Bye Bye Fishies (and it wasn’t my fault)

It’s been a long time since I’ve been able to write because we had a little disaster at our house. Dad has a coral and fish tank in the living room. I don’t find the fish very interesting, but I like to watch Dad as he works on his tank.

A few weekends ago, a noisy pump in the tank woke us all up very early in the morning. Dad got out of bed to check on it, and the next thing I knew he was telling mom to “get up, we have a problem”. The problem was that the tank sprung a leak and water was drizzling down the tank, onto the floor, leaking out the wall of the house, and was making a puddle on the back patio!

Yeah, that’s a problem.

Mom and Dad spent the entire day – from 7 am until 10 pm getting all the creatures out of the tank, taking the critterrs to the aquarium store where they would be safe, and getting the tank out of the house.  Here are some photos of the adventure.

Yes, that’s duct tape holding the back of the tank together. It was mom’s ingenious idea and it bought them enough time to get all the creatures out of the tank.

Here I am supervising Dad’s activities. Each coral had to be removed, put in a little plastic bag with water and air, then put in the styrofoam box to stay warm. It took two trips to the aquarium store, but everyone – all the corals, fish, snails, crabs, clams, and an abalone survived.

After the tank was drained and moved outside, I had to live in another mess for a week while the carpet, padding, and floor dried out. The carpet was folded back and a heater and fan was blowing on it. The worst part is that I lost my favorite spot – sitting on top of the heater vent next to the sunny sliding glass door.

About a week later, Mom & Dad moved almost all the furniture out of the room and a guy came and cleaned the carpets. I had to stay in the bedroom but I didn’t mind because it wasn’t too noisy.  

I did get to do something different during all this comotion. We had the carpets in another room cleaned too and that room has a big sectional couch. They pulled apart the sectional so they could move it around and I decided to sleep on the part where the cushion usually goes. It was the only place to nap since all the other furniture was gone.  Can you see me? If you look real hard you may be able to see my eyes on the black part.

We won’t have that fish tank anymore but soon we’ll have some new furniture in that room. Mom and Dad are turning it into their office. The best part is that I have my heater vent and sunny window back.

Oh, and mom told Dad his fish tank made a bigger mess than us kitties have ever made!

This entry was posted in Cat antics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

