Health

October good news

As October comes to an end, we have some good news to share.

I had my 12th birthday this month (October 16). It’s not my actual birthday, but it’s the day my humans chose just for me. I got a new nip stick that I don’t like very much. Maybe I’ll get one of my favorite Nip Bananas or Nip Cigars for Christmas. But I do enjoy batting around a new little mouse toy they got me.

Raven-12Bday-Mouse.jpg

Seriously Mom, change the camera settings so you get a clear photo of my fast action!

Mom doesn’t want to celebrate prematurely, but she thinks we’ve finally figured out the cause of my itchiness & fur loss. We’ve been dealing with this problem for close to two years and even consulted with a dermatologist. After lots of medications, probably unnecessary flea medicine fiascoes, and numerous diet changes, Mom is fairly certain I am allergic to fish and chicken. I’ve been eating chicken or fish foods for the 8 years I’ve lived here, so it’s been a big change for me to not have my favorites. I’ve also had to give up my crunchy dry food. I didn’t eat a lot of dry food, but it was a fun part of my day to hear the kibbles twinkle into the bowl, then plow them out of the bowl as I eat.

PrideFood.jpgAfter lots of trial and error, Mom found two flavors of food I enjoy and have been doing well on – Pride by Instinct grain-free canned food – Lovebug’s Lamb and Ritzy’s Rabbit. Besides the lamb and rabbit, they contain beef or pork, which I’ve not eaten before. Both are free of fish, fish oil, and chicken. I’ve eaten these foods for one month and I’m no longer obsessed with licking myself. My potty habits are also good and I don’t need a daily laxative anymore.

Mom is confident enough that these foods might be perfect for me that she ordered 48 cans. If I do well for another 7-10 days, she’s going to stock up. It’s frustrating when foods get discontinued, and if these foods work for me, mom wants to keep my pantry full. It’s been very difficult to find foods I like and now that we’ve found some that don’t make me itchy, we never want to run out.

The only minor inconvenience of these foods is that they are “minced” into little pieces and I prefer my food paté consistency. Mom solves that problem by putting it through the food processor.

This food is a bit on the pricey side. It’s almost $3 per can at the one local store that carries it, but she found it online for $2.25 per 5.5 ounce can. She figured it will be over $100 a month to feed me, but if I don’t have to take any medications or go to the vet as often, it’s well worth it.

Speaking of medications, I haven’t taken any prednisolone since October 1. I still get a twinge of itchiness now and then, but the vet said it can take 4-6 weeks for food allergens to get out of my system, so mom is satisfied with the drug-free progress I’m making.

The really good news is that my furs are starting to grow back! It’s not much, but I’ve had a bare belly, legs, and tail for months so it’s nice to have my skin protected by some furs again. I’ve got a long way to go, but Mom is hoping my feathery, black floofy furs grow back by my 13th birthday!

18 thoughts on “October good news”

  1. Wonderful news! (My birthday is Oct 17th!) And BTW – Chewy.com has that food, 5.5 ounce cans, 12 pack, on autoship, comes out to $2.05 per can for the lamb and Ritzy Rabbit comes out to $2.18 per can on Autoship…

    1. That’s where I bought the last batch, but didn’t use the auto-ship option because I wasn’t sure if Raven would keep eating it.

  2. This is such great news, Raven! Really, really great! Plus, I bet there are others out there that could benefit from hearing your story because they have a similar situation.

    Happy belated birthday!

  3. That is wonderful news and it does make sense. We are so glad it is working for you and that your Mom is stocking up. Happy Birthday Raven from all of us!!!

  4. Best wishes for your new foods to work well for you! That is great to have something you like and that is helping you not to itch!
    Love,
    Lily

  5. This is GREAT news! It’s so awesome that you found a brand of food that doesn’t have chicken or fish in its ingredients – that is actually pretty hard to find, as I’m sure you found out! Paws crossed it continues to work for you, Raven.

  6. Happy Birthday! And hooray for the good news! It can’t be fun to the have the itches or have hair falling out. Henry’s still regrowing fur on his back from his last round of Hot Spots, where the vet had to shave a couple small-fist sized spots. Ah, the price of those Luscious Locks. At least we caught this one early. The last time he ended up shaved from navel to manly bits.

  7. Happy Birthday, Raven! Using a novel protein helped us iron out some of Chuck’s intestinal woes; he eats Venison and Green Pea Limited Ingredient now. I was going to say ‘try Chewy.com’ but Grace beat me to it. Glad to hear that your furrs are growing back!

  8. Happy Birthday, Raven! So glad you are feeling better with the new food. Even if it’s a little pricey we’re sure you’re worth it!

    Purrs xx
    Athena and Marie

  9. Oh, I’m glad to hear the good news!! Hooray for a drug-free solution. Hope this is definitely the answer!

    (Hey… a thought… A friend mentioned that she recently came across Addiction brand pet food – she uses it for her dog who also has severe skin allergies caused by eating the usual proteins. She mentioned they are from Australia, so have some different proteins available. Might be worth checking if they have a pate version cat food, or if it’s cheaper than the one you found? Just a thought!)

We enjoy getting comments.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.